Experimental Animation Report

For the this module I wanted to explore time lapse as I have always been fascinated by it since the first time I came across it. I decided to do time lapse by using an app on my phone called “Time Lapse Pro”. I chose to use this app as I wasn’t familiar on how to do time lapse on digital camera. I was happy with the way the app worked and the control it gave me. I was able to set the app so it takes pictures after however many seconds or minutes and then render the images together to create a video sequence.  The other way to do time lapse would be to record a video and then take out every other frame from the footage. This would take more time so I stuck to using the app. The image below shows the app set up in the scene recording.

Scene set up

Scene set up

I set the app so it takes a picture every 40 seconds for the time lapse of the watch. This way it would take 90 images in 1 hour, which would be equivalent to 3 seconds of footage if I work with a frame rate of 30fps.  The image below shows the frame rate settings I used for the final sequence.

Comp Settings

Comp Settings

For the sunset scene I set the app so it takes pictures every 30 seconds during the time of the sunset. For the motorway scene I set it so pictures were taken every second as the camera was moving as well as the surroundings. The images below show the motorway scene, 3 images that were taken in the consecutive seconds.

1 2 3

As I didn’t want the whole sequence to be time lapse I decided to have the prayer movements as a stop motion. I wanted to use a gesture figure for this but found it difficult to get the figure in the positions I wanted it. For example the image below was what I wanted the figure to do but the legs on the figure wouldn’t bend that much.  So I decided to do a stop motion of myself acting out the movements. As I was familiar with the movements, I was able to get a more realistic and accurate movement. I took a photograph for every single little movement in the blue screen room. This way I would then be able to key out the blue and put the images together in Adobe After Effects as a image sequence. As I had 12 to 14 images for each movement, when put together in after effects the

Blue Screen

Blue Screen

movement looked too quick, so I used the time stretch tool to slow the movement down a bit, so the movement can be seen. The movement still looks realistic with the time stretch. I didn’t want to stretch it too much as the movement would look too robotic and jumpy.

Time Strech Screen Shot

Time Strech Screen Shot

For future reference if I were to do stop motion again I would try to have 25 images for each movement if I am working on 25fps. This way the movement would look smoother and flow better than having to time stretch the footage. In regards to time lapse I would make sure I set the camera to take images depending on the movement of what is being recorded. For example if im recording a water fountain, I would set the camera to take a image every second, this way the footage when put together would look smoother and the movement would look more natural.

Leave a Reply

